Grade II listed Lamorbey House was built in 1745 under the ownership of William Steele, a director of the East India Company, although there has been a dwelling on the estate dating back to the 16th Century.
John Shaw redesigned the house in 1837, under the ownership of Neil Malcolm, to include a fashionable Jacobean façade influenced in design by nearby Charlton House.
Following several ownerships, including a private hotel from 1910-1946, Lamorbey House was acquired by Kent Education Services in 1946 and became an adult education centre.
In 1950 Rose Bruford started running her School of Speech and Drama from the house. Over the next 65 years, the College expanded, and the campus now includes two theatres, rehearsal rooms and technical studios catering for over 650 students.
Date: Saturday 4 September 2021
Opening Hours: 10 am – 3 pm
Guided tours of Lamorbey House will take place at the following times:
11:00, 12:00, 13:00 and 14:00
There will also be the opportunity to explore the campus and grounds.
Tour places will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis so please book your preferred timeslot promptly.