World-renowned illustrator Sir Quentin Blake joined a list of distinguished theatre professionals including Rosalie Craig, Jane ‘The Hat’ Smith, Murray Melvin and Sheila Reid to be conferred as Fellows and Honorary Fellows of Rose Bruford College of Theatre and Performance.

They were joined by the College’s President Sir Richard Eyre, Deputy Mayor of Bexley Cllr. Val Clark, Chair of Governors Monisha Shah and over 200 students, professors and academics at the College’s Graduation Ceremony in the Rose Theatre on Friday 16 September 2016.

In his acceptance speech Sir Quentin, who is also Patron of the Bruford Youth Theatre, highlighted the role the theatre has played in inspiring his illustrations;

“I value this Fellowship enormously not only because Rose Bruford College is located in Sidcup, where I grew up, but also because it is a Drama School and drama has been one of the major influences on the way that I work.”

In his address, Professor Michael Earley, Principal and Chief Executive of Rose Bruford College said;

‘At a time when both Higher Education and conservatoire Drama Schools like Rose Bruford College are under mounting financial pressures, it is a positive pleasure to be celebrating some richly deserved talents like those of our new graduates and our recently appointed Fellows. They will and have been making all the difference in the world of the arts and theatre and will continue to do so for many years to come. The celebrity and achievements of our new Fellows is something that our new graduates will certainly hope to emulate.’

2016 Fellowships 
Roger Chapman (Founding Associate of Playful Productions)
Rosalie Craig (Actor)
Wyllie Longmore (Actor and co-founder of Arden School of Acting)
Sheila Reid (Actor)

2016 Honorary Fellowships
SIr Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Murray Melvin (Actor)
Jane Smith (Milliner)
Andi Watson (Lighting Designer)