Staff Profile: Professor Nesta Jones, Director of Research

show all


  • Professor Nesta Jones, Director of Research

  • Position:

    Director of Research

  • Teaching Area:

    European Theatre Arts; American Theatre Arts; Stage Management.

  • Qualifications:

    MA in Literature; University of London Diploma in Dramatic Art, Parts I and II.

  • Professional Practice:

    ​Director, 'The Spoils' (by Paul Englishby and Steven Dykes), Arcola Theatre, Londoln,  (2008).

  • External Duties:

    External examiner, PhD, Leeds Metropolitan University, (2013); External examiner, MA Performance Works, Leeds Metropolitan University, (2008-13); External examiner, PhD, Central St Martin's, University of the Arts, (2008); External examiner, MA in Performance, Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts, (2006-8).


Formerly Reader in Theatre Arts and Head of Drama at Goldsmith, University of London. Nesta came to the College as Head of Graduate Studies in 2001, leading the MA in Theatre Practices until 2008, since when she has focussed on her role as Director of Research. She has published on J M Synge, Sean O’Casey, Brian Friel, David Mamet, and performance and production processes; organised projects for the British Council, National Museum for the Performing Arts, Shakespeare’s Globe, and London Weekend Television; directed theatre productions and workshops across Europe and North America; given papers, demonstrations and expert seminars at international conferences; and served as consultant to the universities of Wales and Surrey, St Mary’s College Twickenham,  Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Association for Theatre in Higher Education (USA), International Theatre Institute, International Women Playwrights, Laban Centre for Movement and Dance, Pan Intercultural Arts, Centre for Performance Research, University of the Arts London, and Birkbeck, University of London.


Designing a festival curriculum', HEA Arts and Humanities Conference, Glasogow, 2012, with Prof. Kathy Dacre;  Brian Friel, (Faber and Faber, 2000); contributing editor,  New Theatre Quarterly, 2003 onwards.